Installment Nine

Last time we talked, I was all excited about getting control cables and floor boards. This does not sound like a lot, but the Devil is in the Details!

Apparently, there are some issues that complicate the process. On its face, it is simple enough to use the old floor boards for a pattern to cut the new wood. Once the new wood is cut the fun and games begin. The torque tube (elevator, and aileron control linkage) that Gregg has gotten had not been installed. When it is, there is another difficulty. Apparently, when I was damaged, the front bearing was bent down several degrees. This misalignment causes the whole assembly to be very stiff when it is installed. Pilots hate heavy control forces! After some head scratching, Gregg figures out what the problem is, and how to fix it. Now, the new Torque Tube functions correctly.

The next issue is brakes. Apparently, most pilots like them to be available and working. Gregg has become aware of another STC that uses the existing break cases, with new internal hardware to greatly improve break effectiveness. This whole installation and painting process only takes a day. However, there is another issue. These new master cylinders are in the back, and there are no break pedals in the front. Gregg gets a print, showing the part dimensions, and is off to the races. In another day he has fabricated two new break pedals that conform to the dimensions on the Piper print.

As you can see, this looks like real progress. However, there are two major parts of this puzzle that are still missing (aileron and flap control). Everyone knows that to address these issues the wings have to be installed. I may not be brilliant, but I am not totally dumb! Early on the morning of October 27, 2010 I got wings!

Now, the fun and games really begin. The ailerons and flaps are installed, and the cables are run. Running the aileron cables is a non-event. Damage repair forces one pulley location to be fabricated, but all the others are in place. It is true that one pulley was placed three times before Gregg decided it was acceptable. The flaps turn out to be a totally different situation.

First, it should be noted that my brethren and I departed the Piper factory without flaps. The new (to me) wings Gregg has acquired have flaps. At some point in the past my fuselage had been modified for flaps. However, there is nothing in my paperwork to attest to this fact, and the modification is set up like a PA-18 (Super Cub). Remember I am a PA-12. So, I am in need of corrective action. That correction takes the form of yet another STC. This one addresses the addition of flaps to a PA-12 (me). Even though the paperwork is now correct, I need to be brought into compliance with that paperwork. After some review (I really hate this kind of thing, it is like getting the hair in your arm pit counted) it is determined that the geometry in the wing complies with the STC, but some modification to the fuselage is required. The good news is that without my wings attached this process could not be done.

The flap compliance procedure includes determination of the new cable routing, installing a new fairlead to avoid chafing issues, fabrication of a new mounting system for the flap handle, and building that handle. Hay, it only takes a few days to get this sorted out, and now I am legal.

Well, that is all the adventure I can stand for the moment, until next month….

About eaa670

EAA 670 secretary blog
This entry was posted in Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment